NJTI-TERT Stands Ready for Deployment During Hurricane Dorian

As Hurricane Dorian leaves a path of devastation across the Bahamas and heads towards the continental United States, the entire public safety community has mobilized and stands ready to aid the communities that will soon see hazardous conditions. This morning, members of the National Joint Telecommunicator Emergency Response Taskforce Initiative (NJTI) held a conference call to evaluate the potential need for deployment of teams across the country. State coordinators in Florida, Georgia, Tennessee and Louisiana have officially placed their teams in “pre-alert” status and are preparing for deployment, if requested.

The Board has also reached out to the Caribbean chapter of APCO International and stands ready to assist our fellow emergency communication centers in the Bahamas. Additionally, the Executive Boards of both APCO International and NENA have been briefed on the preparedness efforts of NJTI.NJTI-TERT, LLC will continue to hold special briefings via conference call throughout the duration of Hurricane Dorian. The Board maintains contact with affected states to gather situational awareness and assist with any needs as they arise.

A Telecommunicator Emergency Response Taskforce (TERT) is a communications stabilization resource that can be requested by a local jurisdiction through the agency response for emergency response and preparedness. That agency will then send the formal request through the Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC) who will then work to quickly fulfill the request.

Download Press Release

National Joint TERT Initiative, LLC, Announces Leadership Changes

Alexandria, VA – The National Joint TERT Initiative, LLC (NJTI, LLC) announces the following leadership changes to the NJTI, LLC National Committee.

Effective December 31, 2017, D. Jeremy DeMar, RPL, ENP (NY) will be stepping down from his position as NJTI, LLC Co-Chair. Jeremy first became involved with the initiative in 2005, when he joined his PSAP’s Communications Response Team (CRT) as a TERT Trained Tactical Dispatcher. In 2011, while working on his APCO Registered Public Safety Leader (RPL) certification, DeMar chose development of the TERT Initiative in New York State as his yearlong Service Project. In 2012, Jeremy was appointed to the NJTI National Committee representing APCO, and shortly thereafter, was appointed Deputy TERT Coordinator for the State of New York. In his first year of TERT service in New York, Jeremy established a statewide TERT contact list and TERT training record repository, both of which would prove to be extremely helpful during NY-TERT’s response to Hurricane Sandy. In the years that followed, Jeremy provided TERT instruction throughout New York State, including first ever instruction to members of FDNY and NYPD in New York City.

National Joint TERT Initiative, LLC, Announces 2018 National Committee Appointments

Alexandria, VA – The National Joint TERT Initiative, LLC (NJTI, LLC) is pleased to announce the following appointments to the 2018 NJTI, LLC National Committee:

Committee Co-Chair: Cory Ahrens (WA)
Committee Co-Chair: Michael Smith (ME)
Nancy Dzoba (FL)
George Long (OR)
Joseph Westrich (ME)
Russell Palmer (GA)
Jeff Carney (TN)
Brianna Fields (AR)
Jonathan Jones (GA)
Brad Gass* (TN)
Andy Stenberg* (WI)
Debra Plunkett* (SC)
Matt Grogan* (NV)
Member at Large (EMAC) Kurt Hardin
Member at Large (International) Robin Johnstone

NJTI , LLC, Accepting Letters of Interest for Appointment to 2018 National Committee

The National Joint TERT Initiative, LLC, is currently accepting letters of interest for appointment to the 2018 NJTI, LLC, national committee. The 2018 service term runs from January 1, 2018, to December 31, 2018.  Consideration for appointment to subsequent terms is discretionary on the part of the appointee, NJTI, LLC, co-chairs, and NJTI, LLC, co-managers.

Interested parties should submit a resume and brief statement (one or two paragraphs) summarizing their interest in this vital mutual aid program for 9-1-1. Submissions should be sent via e-mail in PDF format to the two national co-chairs at cAhrens@cjtc.state.wa.us and ddemar@monroecounty.gov . The deadline for submissions is November 15, 2017.